Your Spirit Animal is the Bear

Just like the bear, you are brave. You are not afraid to do the right thing, even in the face of negative consequences. You are fearless and loyal. You are not afraid to voice your opinion and while you have strong convictions, you’re open to allowing those convictions to grow and change.

Bravery is one of the 7 Grandfather Teachings. Bravery means to live life with courage; to defend what you believe in and what is right for you, your family, and your community.

The bravery teaching is represented by the bear because the mother bear has the courage and strength to face her fears and any number of challenges while she protects her young. The bear also knows how to live a life that balances rest, survival, and play. Like the bear, you know that to face life with courage is to know bravery. You know how important inner strength is and know how to use that strength to defend that which is most important to you.

The Creator gave the bear his size and strength so that he would have the courage to live life bravely. You can channel that same courage in order to face your fears and live a freer, more fulfilling life.

A Quick-guide of the 7 Grandfather Teachings:

Overview of the
7 Grandfather teachings
The Seven Grandfather teachings are a set of Anishinaabe guiding principles that help people respect others and lead a good life in peace and without conflict.
Learn More
that represent the 7 Grandfather Teachings
The animals represent each teaching based on their way of life and how they interact with the animals around them. We can apply their way of life, to our own.
Learn more